Brows On Fleek!

Every girl knows that in order to truly slay, your eyebrows need to be on done just right. Many products for shaping and filling in the eyebrows are available on the market. I’ve gone through my fair share of options as well, from the brow pencil, to brow powder, to dark brown eyeshadow, and of course to eyebrow gel. My mission – to fill in my brows but still have them looking as natural as possible.

Before brow gel, I relied on brow pencils that I hated sharpening. The twist out brow pencils weren’t ideal either because I could never tell when they were about to finish. The worst is when you’re in a rush to go somewhere but you can’t fill in your eyebrows because you ran out of liner and your back up liner is unsharpened! Brow powders, on the other hand, have always seemed unreliable to me.

I was happy to discover brow gel but of course, the gels that I found in the mainstream beauty supply stores were far too expensive. I eventually discovered a brow gel in a China store – the ADS Mesmerizing Eyeliner. Honestly, sometimes these China store are grossly underappreciated … emphasis on sometimes.  The ADS Eyeliner came in a set with two gels in brown and black and two mini brushes, one of which was an angle brush – talk about value for money! I can’t remember how much it cost but I know it was cheap and looked like this

ADS brow gel

ADS 2 in 1 Eyeliner Gel

 

The ADS eyeliner set was truly good to me, it lasted for a few YEARS, and I still have the black gel. It was easy to apply, could be manipulated easily, and didn’t dry while in the pot. The only drawback was that it was a little greasy.

When the brown gel ran out, I tried to repurchase it through AliExpress but I couldn’t find it. Reluctant as I was to try a new brand, it had to be done and I eventually settled on the USHAS Cosmetics Matte Eyeliner Gel. It also comes with an angle brush for application.

 

 

Ushas brow gel

Ushas Brown Gel Eyeliner

Claims: Water-proof, long lasting, matte, quick setting.

Price on AliExpress: US$1.57 (free shipping via normal mail) Plus US$2 Post Office Handling Fee.

Expected Delivery Time: Maximum of 2 months.

Actual Delivery Time: Over 3 months – I think this may change depending on where in the world you live and when you place your order. An order placed during or just before the festive season or Chinese New Year will definitely take longer than expected.

Colour Pay Out:  Very dark brown that looks almost black especially if you apply to much. It would be visible on the darkest shade of African skin, but may be too dark for the lighter shades of African skin.

Texture: It looks thick and pasty but actually has a silky texture. Nowhere near the oily texture of the ADS gel. To be honest, the pasty look makes me feel like it will probably dry in the pot before it is finished.

My Experience of Using It: Because of its pasty looking nature, my first experience with this brow gel was a bit shocking. I put a bit too much product on the angle brush and ended up with very stark looking brows – imaging an extreme version of Cara Delevingne! I tried to wipe off the excess, but this gel sets very quickly and really is water-proof as advertised. Since then, I’ve learnt to use a much lighter hand in my application and to work faster. The gel initially does give a matte finished as advertised, but the matte finish disappears as my T-zone oils start to seep through. The best part about this brow gel is that it is oil and water resistant – it literally does not budge. You never have to worry about accidentally wiping off your eyebrow and it lasts the whole day. It comes off easily when washed with facewash.

Extra Information: The angle brush that comes with the USHAS gel liner seemed sturdy at first, but as can be expected with most Chinese products, it’s not built to last. The top of the brush is not glued on securely to the handle of the brush. I’d recommend using another angle brush altogether or using some super glue to attach the head back onto the handle. The brush head itself is of decent quality.

Verdict: Your brows will be on fleek! And you can definitely slay on a budget with the USHAS brow gel. It’s cheap, has no side effects, and I see it all over town here in Bulawayo, so I assume it’s easily available in 3rd world countries. I probably will repurchase it.

Eyebrows

How my eyebrows looked after using USHAS Eyeliner Gel

4 thoughts on “Brows On Fleek!

Leave a comment